A rose by any other name . . . . . . . . . . .

This beautiful perennial is the only plant that I actually dug up and brought to Arduaine from my last place of work. I brought many plants, but only this one was already in the ground. 

It's a plant that needs a damp, sheltered place and rejoiced in the name of Dicentra macrantha until some bored taxonomist woke up one morning and decided to make life harder for us! OK, maybe he was right to decide that it was no longer relevant to call it a dicentra, but surely he could have come up with something better than Ichthyoselmis macrantha! Doesn't exactly trip off the tongue! Other dicentra species have gone the same way with some equally awkward names!

In spite of that it's a lovely creature and is spreading slowly in the spot that I chose for it. It's a very laid back lady and I'll forgive you for walking past it, but if you do stop I think you'll agree that it has a quiet, delicate elegance.

My extra photograph today is of a wonderful old wheelbarrow that I've been lent to decorate the Glorious Gardens stand at Gardening Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.