The Way I See Things

By JDO

Mono Monday: Hitchhiker's Guide

"No, don't move..... you'd better be prepared for the jump into hyperspace. It's unpleasantly like being drunk."

"What's so unpleasant about being drunk?"

"You ask a glass of water."

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Douglas Adams (1952-2001)

As soon as CH reminded me of this quote I knew that today would involve water play, and what fun we had! Well, I had a good time anyway - I'm not sure how much fun it was for CH, standing on the lawn holding a piece of black foam board, but no-one ever said that the life of a studio assistant was wall-to-wall jollification. He didn't need to be quite so snippy about my teeming and ladling* skills though, frankly.

I did meet the late, great Douglas Adams once: in 1984 he was doing a book signing tour to promote So Long and Thanks for All the Fish, and I happened to be working at one of the venues. I have to say, he wasn't displaying his legendary charm that day - but who knows how many bookshops he'd already visited, and how many hundreds of times he'd scribbled personal messages and signed his name, by the time he reached Croydon? I do still have my signed copy of the book.

Many thanks to Dollykgray for this month's Mono Monday themes - if you haven't checked out her post today, do take a look! I will be taking over next week (how did I manage to pick a month with five Mondays in it??), but as I really don't see how I can top her challenges, I think it's best that I don't even try - in other words, you'll be getting an easy ride for the next month. I do believe that Skeena is currently accepting applications to host future months, so drop him a comment if you'd like to have a go.

* This expression is in such common use in our family that it only just occurred to me that other people might not know it - and when I looked it up I was surprised to discover that it's a peculiarly Sheffieldish phrase, with its roots in the steel industry: teeming is the pouring of molten metal into a mould, and the thing it's poured from is called a ladle. 

Four more teeming and ladling shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.