SIGNS

By Mickky

Cold water kills

It was my first time to find the verb, kill, used as an intransitive verb. It feels as if cold water had an intention of killing people. One may find it difficult to translate this sentence fairly into Japanese, my mother tongue, since Japanese does not normally put an inanimate entity which should not have any intention into the subject position.

Apparently the producer did not forget showing respect to other people, by adding 'To ignore this advice my cause others to risk their lives by trying to save you' at the bottom. Not quite sure but I doubt I've ever seen such cautions back in Japan.

Had such a lovely time in Haworth, one of the places in Britain I wanted to visit, ever since I read "Wuthering Heights" a long ago. As I had heard about the small village, there were signs written also in Japanese, which was kind of weird as such a small village seemed to be the last place to have signs written in a language other than its mother language (see the extras). Also those signs reminded me that Bronte sisters have attracted Japanese readers as well, leading many of them to their village.

The latter half of our day trip was for walking along the footpath in the great moors that were covered with snow. I cannot forget all the stunning and breathtaking scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.