THE DOG AT MEER EN BOS PARK

has some strange habits, his owner told us. And we could see for ourselves too,
As soon as the dog found a stick, and today this was a huge one, he carried to the little stream that runs there. Frantically, and with much noises, he starts to roll in constantly, chewing now and then at the ends.
I asked how long he could do this play, and the answer was that he never waited till the dog was finished, but when they reached home, the dog was exhausted and fell asleep immediately.
Piet Hein and I walked to the beach. We went through the beautiful Meer en Bos park, so green, with all kinds of wild flowers between the trees.
The weather not so nice, but when one walks it does not matter that much. We climbed the dunes and had that amazing view over the North Sea, where the regatta was held, for three days now (I think).
Piet Hein slowly went in the cold water (12 o C.) while persons in winterclothes passed him, their heads covered in thick caps.

My haiku:

Could I understand
The tales of this small dog wouldn't
I  hear some strange things?

And the quote by Emerson in "The Poet", Essays: Second Essays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.