Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Shelter from the storm

First things first, I've been back blipping today! If you feel inclined to not miss a single one of my blips, either manually check the last 2, or click here and here!

This year's Bike to Work Week in Milwaukee was fantastic, with almost perfect weather. The day started with warm, sunny skies, with a pre-work coffee and pastry courtesy of Alterra coffee company. A chance of thunderstorms in the afternoon. I took my chances.

Work kept me a bit late, causing me to miss my window between the storms, though. A light rain when I left work quickly transitioned to heavy stinging rain and 30mph winds. I was a fool and thought to keep my t-shirt from getting wet, but my exposed arms from my tank top were red and numb after the constant stinging beating the rain gave me. The headwinds made it quite tough going, but like back in the days of delivering newspapers, once you get so wet you're saturated, you can get on with enjoying being out and wet in the rain. Y'know, as long as I held up a hand to shield my eyes and face from getting pelted by rain.

Lightning started striking pretty nearby, so I decided it was prudent to catch a breather underneath a pedestrian overpass (I know, I know, after the fact I've learned that it is a poor shelter against lightning. Honestly, I just needed to catch my breath). Thank goodness my camera was warm and dry in my bike panniers, I figured if I was gonna be out in the rain, I may as well take some pictures!

A little bit after I set back on the trail, the rain let up a bit, at least the wind died down a touch and the lightning calmed down. In the end, though, I enjoyed the adventure of the ride home. I had nowhere to be, and aside from the lightning was in no real danger. I could cuddle up at home with a drink and warm dry sweatclothes and enjoy the evening.

Coincidentally, my girl had left work on time to go to karate, and the class lasted exactly the duration of the storm - she had some light sprinkles on her ride, but that was the worst of it. Well, I'm definitely happy for her, and also for myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.