Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

River Almond, Almondell & Calderwood Country Park

Sunday morning bike ride was a lot shorter than my last ride, Etape Caledonia, two weeks ago. I had hoped to head south, but not feeling 100% fit, I decided against it. Instead I headed west so that I would have the wind on my back on the ride home.

I headed up the A70 to Balerno, took a back road through Glenbrook, before rejoining the A70, then heading north along Leyden Rd to Kirknewton and East Calder.

Almondell & Calderwood Country Park is a natural woodland on a plateau between East Calder and Broxburn. Most of the woodland is on the old Calderwood estate. A great place to visit as it is free, and open all year round.

This photo is of the River Almond as it flows through the park, taken from the Almondell Bridge. The river seems to zig-zag here as it falls down the rock strata.

Ride back was through Pumpherston, East Calder, Kirknewton and the Long Dalmahoy Road. A not too shabby 55.4km, 34.4 miles.

Coffee and cake in the afternoon was very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.