OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Poor Old Johnny Rae

This is the statue of Arctic explorer John Rae which was recently erected on the Stromness waterfront. I don't know why no-one foresaw that it would be a much-favoured perch for gulls and rooks. The sculptor could have invented a story about Rae using a warm, live porcupine tied to his head on his ardouous winter treks and the bronze version would stopped such perching and messing.
I was over on Hoy again monitoring the eagle nest there. It looks like the young pair won't succeed in breeding this year but that was predicted due to their youth and inexperience. Visitors stopped by and I could show them the male on the nest- no sign of the female all day. Thirty minutes before I was due to leave, the eagle left the nest and circled ever higher above the cliffs until it disappeared. It did not return. It was as if it was giving up on the same day as me. I was cheered, though, when I saw and watched an otter near the pier. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.