A place in time

By Verbosa

Jubilee

I spotted this little house with the cheery jubilee decorations and it just summed up the simplicity of things. There was nothing flash, just a simple display of patriotism that I found charming.

Another manic day at work, but I'm still walking to and from work and actually getting to enjoy it now (!). I'm finding that the half hour or so each way in the fresh air is helping to clear the stress and it's making me actually look around at my surroundings in a way I've never done before. Sure, I'm not capturing any stunning images, but I like these little daily snapshots (literally) of life around me.

I also stopped and spoke to a lady a few doors along from this house, who was planting flowers in her little front garden that will bloom in red, white & blue, so I hope to be able to capture them once they flower. Anyway, this lady (along the road) told me that her house will have been in her family for 100 years in 2014, after her father moved into the house when he was a little lad of just 4. We had quite a little chat and it turned out that she used to work in the same warehouse building that our office is in, when it was a clothing factory in the Forties. (I wonder if I might be able to find out something about the warehouse at that time in the Guildford archives...?)

N.B. Belated back-blip on 5th June! And the trouble with back-blips is that you forget all the important stuff you were going to mention...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.