wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Memorial Day

I am moved by the American flag. It brings a lump to my throat as I remember the men, women, and yes even animals that have given their lives to protect it. I recently read the story of the writing of " The Star Spangled Banner". The battle at Fort McHenry is a story of bravery, one that has been repeated over and over again in our history as a country.
I also seem to be protective of the flag lately. I was really upset that a group of college students felt it appropriate to stomp on the flag.
My uncle gave his life for this country, my father and brother in law fought under that flag. Many of my friends lost family members who also fought under that flag.
Yup and they fought for the right for these little snots to trample it.
Irony at its best
The very last line of the last verse of this anthem reads;
"And the Star Spangled Banner in triumph shall wave, o'er they land of the free, and the home of the brave....."
What would Francis Scott Key write today?


I caught up on 5 blips today so check out my last 5 blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.