Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Delving into the Past

My mother doesn't tell us much about her past.  We know the basics but not much more. She never talks of her childhood or her adulthood for that. She was a child when her mother married a man by the name of Ray Abbott, father of her half sister, our only aunt on her side, Sally.  We knew he was a racing motorcyclist and not much more. 

The other day I posted a trip out to the 'Brooklands Double Twelve' for the photography group and I started to wonder if he ever raced there. Curious, I called the museum who confirmed he had and invited me to do some research in their archives.  I also did a search online and found an article in a back issue of 'The Automobile', from way back in December 1985. I contacted the people who keep them and managed to buy it. 

Ray took a break from motorbikes and drove mainly Clyno cars during the 1920's. He had success on the track and beyond, making a significant name for himself. He even took a 1921 Rover Eight on tour to the continent, covering 2,000 miles 'on atrocious road surfaces'.  

I had a wonderful time today, talking to enthusiasts and historians who volunteer in the archive department, which is as vintage as the vehicles, planes and bikes that the museum houses.  There is only one computer, hidden in a corner by the window. The gentleman in the foreground is searching for information that is scattered far and wide to pass to the man on the keyboard  behind me,  painstakingly entering the data, trying to compile a new digital archive.   
Just being in the room full of filing cabinets, books and the scent of real age was a joy!  No bleached walls and modern desks... almost as if time had stood still for 50 years The ladder, sadly made of aluminium, is as out of place as the computer! 

They pulled out files that told me of the races Ray participated in at Brooklands, his placement in the races and gave me advice on who to contact to find out more and if the old Clyno cars he raced the still exist. Then a man appeared and told me it must be my lucky day. He produced the same article that arrived in the post a couple of days ago.  I didn't have the heart to tell him that I already had it. 

My second photo is the center page of the magazine issue.  The following two pages are also full of information and photographs.  Now to find out a little more and present a file to Mother and my aunt.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.