a town called E.

By Eej

Al Sabo - Memorial Day

We decided to go for some tree therapy today, in a nature preserve close by. It was so, so lovely. Yes, we got rained on, and we didn't care. We got lost, and we didn't care.
I felt so LUCKY, to be with someone who enjoys exploring waaaaay more than I do and who isn't afraid to blaze a trail.

We saw a deer. It bolted at first, but then stopped and just looked at me. I did not have the zoom lens up, but while keeping eye contact, I slowly managed to change lenses. Then it struck this pose, and I felt lucky, again.

Then my shoes died.
I've had those shoes since 2003. Strong, sturdy, REALLY expensive hiking boots that got me through, I think, at least a 1000 miles of walking. But the bottoms started to slowly disintegrate as I walked and by the end of the day I had flaps underneath my feet. Not SO lucky.

We walked 5 miles uphill and downhill and for a while there were no people around at all. It was glorious. Just us and the forest and the wind in the pines.

Then we went and had a commemorative beer at  the Brewery. Goodbye shoes, thank you SO much for all that you've done for me, with never a complaint and NEVER a blister.

(extra photos because I had a hard time choosing and because I can)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.