Argey Bargey (ok it's a Narrow Boat)

At lunchtime today I drove to Edstone Aqueduct to get a bit of fresh air - it's only a couple of minutes in the car. I've Blipped it a couple of times before, but just in case you weren't listening, I'll tell you again - it's the longest aqueduct in England at 475 feet long.
If the old Alcester Railway had still been in operation, I could have caught the train from my house to here (as the line also used to run under this aqueduct as well as the road seen here and another railway line, and locomotives would stop here to fill their tanks with water) - there again, if the railway had still been running, we wouldn't be living in our house as it would have still been a railway station. 
I walked up the steps and across the top and then back again, and was disappointed that there wasn't a moving narrow boat in sight (there were a couple moored up). I packed my camera away, started the car - what's that sound? People talking - where from? Botheration - I missed the boat - well, almost. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.