I Was Young Once Upon A Time....

A visit to the Community Centre and several of us seniors were watching the children enjoying the organised games. This gentleman was deep in thought. Maybe remembering his own school holidays as I was. I would have loved to have had a go on this, the object being to knock your opponent of his pedestal. Inflatables were yet to be invented when I was at school, along with many other things. No computers in general use. A 'Chip' was a piece of wood, 'Hardware' was nuts and bolts, and 'Software' wasn't even a word ! A 'Big Mac' was a large raincoat. No mobile phones or large coloured TV's, just a small black and white one with a couple of programmes, if you were lucky,  not even CD's, just tapes. We spent our time fishing for tiddlers with a net and jam jar, in the streams, or even swinging across them by a rope strung from a tree,  playing 'hide and seek' in the long grass in the meadows, sometimes 'kiss chase'. scrumping in orchards, riding our bikes, playing marbles, swimming outdoors, ( I'm sure the days were warmer !) My two brothers were the proud owners of a set of large pram wheels, around which they built a covered wagon.  I'm getting carried away now as I've been putting some old snapshots on the computer and hoping to enhance them. I can now share the enjoyment of my small grandchildren at play.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.