Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

The Rolling Hills of the Borders

This is near Bonchester Bridge, south-east of Hawick. Countryside immortalised by many, including Sir Walter Scott, and more popularly in Matt McGinn's song:

"When I die, bury me low
Where I can hear the bonny Tweed flow,
A sweeter place I never will know
Than the rolling hills of the Borders

I've travelled far and wandered wide,
I've seen the Hudson and the Clyde,
I've wondered by Loch Lomond side,
But I dearly love the Borders.

Oft do I remember the day
When wi my love I strolled by the Tay,
But all this beauty fades away,
Among the hills o the Borders.

There's a certain peace of mind
Bonnie lassies there you will find
Men so strong and men so kind,
Among the hills o the Borders."

It could be views like this that inspired him, here he is singing it. But I'm biased; I live here. This is my country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.