Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Woodland Garden #1

I have some of my best ideas in the bath, in the morning, thinking about what needs to be done.

This morning whilst luxuriating amongst the bubbles, I saw what the bottom end of my garden should look like!

Now I really shouldn't show the "before" pictures, it's got into quite a mess down there over recent years, while other things have taken priority, but I will. Not for you to look at and have that glow of satisfaction knowing your garden is much better, just for the record.

From the house this area is hidden by a huge Sorbus and a delicate, large Acer. Beyond them and hidden from the road is a "clearing" 5m x 5m. A place where we used to have barbecues, before the trees formed a canopy.

My inspiration came from a garden I passed in Morningside at the weekend. It was a tidy front garden but the plants were, to a certain extent, wild flowers.

Because this part of my garden has some tree canopy combined with a high water table, I thought that it would lend itself to becoming a woodland garden. I love the trees, I love the privacy from all sides so what is now a struggling lawn could be a circular paved or decked area with 2 chairs and a table. Cast iron Victorian style could be nice!

For the planting, I have plenty of Bluebells (Spanish unfortunately), wild garlic, forget-me-nots and ferns grown from spores 30 years ago. I could add some wood anemones and see how it went from there!

Thank you Kat for getting me thinking about the garden again. It's something I really love!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.