Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Introducing a Few of My Dearest Friends

The first pet I can remember having was a small turtle. His home was a round aquarium with an "island" in the middle surrounded by water. I'd set him onto the kitchen table and watch him roam, timing how long it took him to reach the other side.

We never had cats when I was a child. My mom disliked cats, though she could never verbalize why. I think it had something in common with my own preference for dogs and their larger than life emotions and displays of affection.

Since the turtle (whose name I cannot remember) I have had several pet companions:

1. Dexter, a kooky, aggressive Dalmatian. My folks gave him away because of his unpredictably aggressive behavior towards pretty much everybody.
2. Rusty, a super, mellow, slow-moving guy. Rusty was a Bassett Hound with a beautiful, deep baritone howl. I remember ducking for cover every time he shook himself off as big globs of slimy drool would spray everybody within 10 feet of him.
3. Pip, a smart and spunky curly-headed gal. I didn't get to spend much time with dear Pip. I moved out west and she stayed in New Jersey.
4. Bessie, a sweet, blonde Golden Retriever. I feel badly that I didn't give Bessie more attention and a better life than she had. I was in the throes of early motherhood during these years, and Bessie did not get my best energy.
5. Smokey, the first cat I ever had! She was a kitten given to me by a co-worker whose cat had a big litter. Smokey was a gray tabby and a feisty creature who didn't hesitate to use her claws. Unfortunately, this behavior served to reinforce all my preconceptions about cats instilled in me through my mom.
6. Miss Mittens, my second cat, was the complete opposite of Smokey. Miss Mittens was sleek, elegant, and coy; steel gray and always sporting a pair of delicate, white evening gloves. She showed up at our house one night, a tiny, fearless kitten, and the rest is history. Mice trembled as she approached, dogs feared her wrath. I miss her sitting beside me as I work at my desk, her legs neatly tucked under her body.
7. Beau, a wonderfully loyal, smart, and devoted friend. Beau was a big handsome German Shepherd-mix who grew up, along with our boys, out on five beautiful acres, chasing cows, and running across open fields. It was a great place to be a dog, and what a dog he was. 
8. Mr.Dibbs Doolittle (pictured) is the third cat I've had the pleasure to live with. Dibbs is a sweet-natured fellow, gentle, shy, and doesn't want any trouble. Dibbs loves a good meal, and his wide girth shows it. His size is accentuated by the bullseye markings on either side of his handsome frame. Until just recently, he would greet me each morning as I emerged from my bedroom, leading me into the kitchen to fetch him his breakfast. Both he and Miss Mittens enjoyed long walks and good conversation.
9. Lola Malu, our little brown girl (half chocolate lab, half pointer), all wiggling, waggling tail, she is bursting with joy every waking moment. She is hands-down the easiest companion I have ever known, two-legged or four-legged. With little to no training or effort on my part, she intuitively travels beautifully, is amazingly well-mannered, knows to stand still and wait while I pause to snap photos during our walks, is a great friend to cats, deer, rabbits, and anybody who wants a game of volleyball.

There was something primal and comforting - and magical - in each of my relationships with these various animals. The memory of every one of them is indelibly etched in my mind. They are all unforgettable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.