Little gem

It's turned a trifle chilly today, so my proposed orchid safari has been called off.

Instead I went for a walk along the ridge road, just to see what I could see.  It's a bit early for a lot of flowers, but there's heaps of stuff in bud.  We just have to wait another couple of weeks.

Then this little gem caught my eye.  So tiny, barely 5mm across.  And until I saw it on the screen, I didn't realise the petals were like little butter curls, and I didn't even see the stamens lifted up ready to catch a passing insect.  Chance'd be a fine thing today.  I didn't see anything flying at all; far too cold.

Please do look in large - the detail of this tiny flower is amazing, and the red colour of the buds is just lovely.

I've just spent a good ten minutes trying for an ID - I shall send the picture to a friend and see if she knows what it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.