The Silver Birches Are Golden

The mountain beyond is the southern end of the Torlesse Range. I had to use the small stepladder to get this shot from my back lawn.

I’m feeling rather virtuous after saving a sheep from a cold, uncomfortable night. Just before dark I heard a strange noise down the bank below the greenhouse and discovered a ewe with her head stuck in the sheep netting fence. I haven’t been down there much since my foot got bad and the steps I made have all but vanished. However, I took my trusty walking pole and made it easily.

The poor ewe was trying to free herself by pushing forward. The ground on both sides of the fence was all churned up. The sunshine doesn’t reach there now and the grass is white with several day’s frost. My approaching her made her pull back. I was able to work tufts of wool on her cheek through the hole and suddenly she was free. She jumped backwards like a gymnast. No thanks to me. All I got was a few hundred glares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.