Dee47

By Dee49

Outer Shell

Hi guys :)

I've had issues with my internet the last few days and haven't been able to post but I have had plenty time to hone my philosophical skills :)


There is a man I've met a few times recently, and when you ask "how are you" out of politeness, he actually tells you. Now, my initial reactions were not brilliant. He is very 'proper' and speaks of things that my lesser self, knows nothing about. He can sound offensive on occasion. And his voice is very deep and monotone. This guy can talk, for a loooooong time. One does tend to get bored.....
But, within our conversation, he mentions something about this book he had written and how it had started, only now, to gain more interest. He told me his name, just in case I wanted to know....
I actually was intrigued enough to google this guy.
What I found out, made me feel very humbled.
This man, has Aspergers. He is the way he is through no fault of his own. He is the way he is, because he cannot be any other way. I understood better now.
I downloaded his book out of sheer shame and curiosity. (Although I have to say, a bit pricey for a kindle book!)
I found the book rather fascinating and laughed out loud at the wry humour sprinkled throughout it. although I really wish I didn't know he lost his virginity at 31 And he gained my admiration for his determination and bravery, and for how he overcomes simple daily obstacles that we seem to be able to do so much more easily.

This shell, serves as a reminder to me, to not always judge a book by its cover. Something I guess we can all be guilty of from time to time.
But that there is always something more hidden away inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.