Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

My Grandmother's Peonies

Each year, I anxiously await for my Peonies to bud and blossom. These flowers are a little extra special because they came from my father who got them from his mother. My grandmother passed away forty years ago in May. It hardly seems possible!

Every year, I have said I really need to transplant those bushes, as they don't receive enough sunlight. And every year, it seems something else takes precedence and the Peonies are neglected once again!

This year, we are planning to raise the grade in our side yard, where I have successfully had a beautiful garden. I am planning to move the Peonies this fall. The sad part is that it takes them two or three years to once again establish themselves once transplanted....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.