An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Soho Stroller

London's Soho still retains small pockets of red light and sex industry establishments.

Sharper detail in Large (for phone numbers and website details!!)

However, despite great changes in both that industry and the area, these parts still retain the feeling of tawdry unease. You either need to be drunk, daring, or very certain of what you want to venture within it. Unless you're on a stag party, (you'd no doubt be all three of those, if you were!) as many of the relatively few around were. The Windmill here stays open until 5.30 a.m., six days a week.

The famous - and infamous - The Windmill Theatre en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windmill_Theatre has had a long history and even a (quite successful and moderately good) film, charting how the theatre famously stayed open during the air-raids of WW2, allowing young troops facing fighting and possibly death, sights they would otherwise very possibly never had seen.

Starring the late Bob Hoskins, Judi Dench and Christopher Guest, and directed by well known Brit Stephen Frears was released in 2005. "Mrs Henderson Presents" www.imdb.com/title/tt0413015/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_20 is a little glossy and cosy perhaps especially considering that under the strips of red neon, now lies this crumbling, sad façade.

And if you think I ventured inside, my financial situation, rucksack with lenses and fleece worn to keep out quite a cool night, well, no. In my younger days, I might well have done, but in my more mature, sober years, I Blip it instead. I purposefully avoided a weekend night (Fri, Sat) when I guess it would be MUCH busier.

EXIF data is wrong - it's my old Nikon 35mm f1.4 manual focus lens. (DX eqv 52mm)

Many thanks for ALL stars and such on my  colourful  housing development Blip yesterday (or, earlier today, to be precise).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.