The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Nonna's Eyes

It was a day of too many hats and too few rabbits from sunrise to sunset. I am going through a bit of a work ultrathon right now but I continue to remind myself that being professionally busy is a problem many people wish they had, especially in this economy. I am thankful to have a challenging career even though, on a day like today, it would be easy to complain about being too busy. So, for the time being, I will keep putting one foot in front of the other at the fastest pace possible. This means I have had no time on blip and I am feeling quite guilty that I am receiving all of your lovely comments, stars and hearts and, yet, I have not been able to thank you or to see your journal. I hope I can change this soon.

I arrived home from work quite late this evening expecting to find everyone in bed. Much to my surprise and delight, my eldest daughter, Isabella, was reading a book on the floor of the family room awaiting my arrival. As I saw her smile up at me, it became evident to me that the beauty of her face is quite preferable to the street blip I had planned on using. So, the camera quickly came forth and this image was captured before she went off to bed.

Isabella's eyes remind me of my mother's and, when I look into her eyes, my challenging day at work quickly fades from my memory.

Please know that I greatly appreciate your friendship and support even though I have not been able to personally express such for the last four days.

See the sparkle in her eyes in big if you have time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.