JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Prague or Praha and the Vltava

Too many photos to choose from today so I am having to use the extra photos option for the first time!

Up early at 5 am to drive to Heathrow Terminal 5, arrived at the terminal in plenty of time but could not find the flight on the board, horror had I got the wrong day? No the wrong terminal what a pain we then had to rush over to terminal 3 but did manage to have time for breakfast in the business class lounge (I had free business class tickets courtesy of avios)

We were met at the airport and taken to the Designhotel elephant a lovely hotel, very welcoming. A quick drop off of things in the room then out to explore. Off to the Old town, the local bike rental shop, and then a wander round the Jewish quarter - too tired to take it all in. I had spotted earlier in the day the opportunity to attend a free organ concerto in the Jerusalem synagogue - this was not really a tourist thing and was mainly attended by the Jewish community but the acoustics in the synagogue were tremendous and I got to hear music by composers I had not heard before including

BA Wierdermann Toccata a fuga f moll
R Schumann Kanonicka studie
FM Bartholdy Sonata c1f moll Op 65
Josef Leopold Zvonar Sonata IV
Premysl Ksica Improvizace
Charles Marie Widor Symfonie 5 f moll

The inside was beautiful and the stained glass windows had an Art Deco feel, I closed my eyes during the music and had to make sure I did not drift off given how early I had got up

Tiredness meant we got lost getting back but eventually we returned in one piece and I slept extremely soundly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.