The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Seafood overdose

At lunchtime I got a taxi to a seafood restaurant called 'Bandar Djakarta' which had been recommended to me. It's in a seaside resort area called Ancol which costs to get in (which I didn't know until I was at the ticket gate in the taxi). The restaurant is massive and mostly outside near the water. I asked for a menu and was taken to an area by the entrance with dozens of ice boxes and tanks full of seafood (some still alive). The idea is that you pick whatever you like (priced by weight) and tell them how you want it cooked. I had eight large shrimps (cooked two different ways), a whole fried fish and a large plate of calamari. With rice and various sauces it came to 178,000 IDR, which is less than £9. It was all delicious and so much food that I had to skip dinner!

I then decided to walk around the resort area to see if there was anything interesting. It wasn't great and the heat was getting to me so I tried to get a taxi, which proved difficult. They were scarce and the first few I found had no idea where I wanted to go, despite showing them maps, addresses and names of major landmarks around my hostel. I eventually found one who not only knew instantly the area of my hostel but he spoke great English and had a metered taxi (which are always much cheaper).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.