New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Photo exhibition

This afternoon my photography club met at the Botanical garden, and prepared for our photo exhibition that opens tomorrow. The exhibition has become a yearly event, as this it the fourth summer we do this. The subject now is Women, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of women's suffrage in Iceland. 

At first I wasn't going to participate, as I mainly take pictures of landscape or flowers, but at the same time I felt bad about not following my group. Then I got an idea for a photo and contacted a local artist who makes those wonderfully colourful paintings, and she was kind enough to let me come to her studio and take her photo while painting. 

I wanted to make a photo that showed a woman "in the flow", concentrating on her work and enjoying it. I hope I managed to do just that. Anyway, I'm utterly grateful to the artist, Hrönn Einarsdóttir, for helping me out with my project. Thank you Hrönn :)    

P.S. My photo is farthest to the left.  The surroundings will be much nicer later when the trees have more leaves on them, and then I'll take a picture of it and publish here on the blip.

P.P.S. My husband and Elfa's husband came along and helped with the hanging of the pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.