It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Slated

I'm sure I had some images from yesterday but no...... That's what comes with writing a blip two weeks late!

Yesterday was a savage one. I had planned my nutrition better and had food in my back pocket! Lex had planned a tough ride the Snowman Triathlon course plus a wee bit more....just over 90km and 2000m of climbing! After the previous day it was always going to hurt! Blaeneu Ffestiniog was the big climb and it went on forever. 

Charlotte was on the front for most of the day again! I was comfortable until the first major climb but let the majority go! The decent of the big mountain was soooo fast.....I was on my commuting bike and hadn't set my brakes up properly.....ok for the city but not for one of the fastest descents in the country! Flipping amateur! 

I was completely dropped shortly after Capel Curig and the trip back to Llanberis was tough! I'm at my toughest when I'm on my own though.....I lose the ego and don't get pissed that I can't keep up! However, the legs completely packed up on the final climb of the day and I found myself walking. At least I wasn't last back!

The plan was to go for a swim in Caernarfon and I think it would have done me good......however, I would have had to cycle back to Llanberis and I certainly wasn't up to that! Rather, I said my goodbyes to my club mates and headed into town for lunch! I had my scone first, a huge bowl of soup and then a sandwich too.

Then it was a cycle high up into the slate quarries and Dinorwig to Rosemary's Dad's house. Wow..... the legs just wouldn't get me up the hill in Deiniolen. This is the town when Sir Dave B was brought up but I certainly wasn't being a cycling legend! I even had to phone Rosemary to distract me so I'd forget about the pain of the walk.

It was Rosemary's Dad's (John) birthday and he seemed very pleased to see me! I genuinely love the old duffer....his smelly jumper, beanie hat and his very distinct farmhouse! We talked for ages and then headed out for a posh pub dinner!

He guessed I was paying as he ordered the most expensive things on the menu......although I'm guessing he's very left leaning, some habits from Dulwich College and Oxford never die.......The main thing was that he enjoyed his birthday dinner though!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.