Magazines

I've always been a big reader. When I was a small child I would devour books, getting through one every couple of days.

As I got older, I discovered comics - magazines for the younger reader, as far as I'm concerned. I remember pleading with my mother to buy me the new comic called Twinkle when I saw the TV ads.

As I got older, I would love to browse and buy magazines, usually four or five a month (as well as books - I will always love a good book!). And if they had a free gift I could use, that was a real treat!

A few years ago I stopped buying so many and rationed myself to one or two a month. Lately though, I have rediscovered my love of a glossy page and am enamoured of those magazines offering something more than fashion tips and ways to entertain your kids during the holidays. Given that I don't have children, those articles are quickly passed over!

One of the mags I particularly like at the moment is Oh Comely, and they have just started offering a 'subscription box'. Of course I jumped at this offer, even though it's not free!

The first box arrived today. The theme of this quarter's issue is 'weather', and the package contained a silk scarf painted with rain drops, a note book, a brass necklace and a little bottle of 'drizzle', as well as the magazine.

It was like getting an unexpected gift through the post, and I love the thinking behind it too! Certainly brightened my day today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.