Dai Urnal-Instants

By DaiUrnal

Transit of Venus...

...sadly, no, more a transit of Venus on the Half Shell.

Best viewed large.

It was most frustrating, trying to view the Sun as there was often a large cloud in the way. I projected the Sun captured through one lens-train of a pair of binoculars onto the bedroom wall, closing the curtains to a slit to provide shadowed areas on the wall.

The image projected well and sharply, at an apparent size of about 10-15 cm. I possibly did see Venus as it approached the end of the Transit before 6am but it may have been a sunspot.

By the time I managed to set up the camera to capture the wall-projected image (a fine balancing act) cloud was intermittently obscuring the Sun. By the time I managed to capture images, the Transit was over, so I had to apply the McNally Observational Fudge Factor to my results.

How frustrating. Still I'll get it right next time...

In 2117.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.