I came, I saw, I conquered

Friday 29th May 2015 (1007)

The dreaded lake! Today it looked like an adversary, waiting to devour its next victim. We stared at each other, who was going to win? In trepidation I entered, the cold immediately making a grip and taking my breath away, the slimy mud on the bottom giving way and sucking me in. I took time to acclimatise, my back to the daunting expanse, watching the bank, a place of safety.

Then the moment of truth as I launched myself into the depths. Immediately I discovered a new hazard lurking just below the surface. The lake was now full of weed which brushed against my face and wrapped itself around my arms and ankles. It reminded me of the scene from Harry Potter when Harry was trapped in the lake by the weeds that straggled him and dragged him down. I kept expecting to see angry merpeople with their tridents. Still, I persevered. The lake was a couple of degrees warmer than a few weeks ago and it made a difference, as did last night's training. I took it easy, the tortoise rather than the hare. I got further than last time before I needed a break but I was determined not to stop so changed to breast stroke until I got my breath back. I continued this pattern all the way to the furthest buoy, which I gladly tapped on the head as I turned around. Back past the island, through some more weed ... still, no merpeople. I kept up the rhythm, never stopping, until I reached the bank. I came, I saw, I conquered! It was only a quarter of a mile but I had done it in one go with no false starts.

I decided enough was enough for today, the weed just wasn't pleasant. It was enough to encourage me to carry on. I'm not quitting, I will be there on 4th July! 

Thanks to Carrie for once again giving up a Friday afternoon to support me. We enjoyed a lovely meal afterwards.       

p.s Carrie has posted one of me! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.