Free as a bird

By freebird

One amazing day!

Today was just one amazing day... When I received an email a couple of months ago to say that I had been lucky enough to receive two tickets for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Concert, I couldn't quite believe it. But today it all came true and my youngest son and I experienced a day we will truly remember for the rest of our lives.
In the early afternoon we were soaking up the atmosphere down The Mall taken over by the Union Jack. After lots of queuing and security checks we were into the grounds of Buckingham Palace, picking up our special picnic hamper and walking through the bottom of the palace and into the Queen's gardens where we could wander anywhere. What a privilege...
Then, to the concert itself - and one after the other, stars, many part of my life for fifty years, performing on a unique stage on a unique occasion and we had some of the best seats in the house. I had to pinch myself to make sure it was all real.
To top it all we were treated to the most incredible firework display I have ever seen... Truly, one amazing day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.