weewilkie

By weewilkie

still morning

I have to be still.
I cannot move, or if I have to move it is to struggle through my leg break crutch manoeuvres. Each step is purposeful: six clicks to the window chair, eleven clicks to the kitchen, twenty-two clicks to the bathroom, three hundred and forty around the block.
Then I am still again. The deep ache in my leg throbs the moment. So I sit, all the everyday wonders of the day exhaustingly distant yet right there. To take a step is to struggle. The weight of walking, click by click, to put the kettle on or have a look out my window makes these movements almost ceremonial.
But I am learning to sit still and be with myself, anchored there as I am by my healing bone with its titanium metal pin. Pinning me to the spot. Making me stop and see. A mindfulness of healing.

This morning on my sofa I awoke to the blue sky illuminating my chair. There I will sit, like a king on his throne, breathing in my domain. Going nowhere but here. Slowly realising that there was no other place to go all this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.