Wearing purple...

By 60plus

It's got our name on it...

Roy and I had different versions of the day in our heads... As it was due to be sunny, I was fancying a visit to Wentworth Castle, where the rhododendrons and azaleas are in full bloom. Nice!
He, on the other hand, wanted to get the rest of the materials for some shelves he's promised to put up for my sister...
Yesterday in Wakefield we collected 4 uprights, 6 narrow shelves and 8 brackets for 4 wide shelves - that's all they had. We did a click and collect - the Halifax store had the 4 wide shelves and the remaining 4 narrow shelves we needed, but only 12 brackets. The Huddersfield store had the remaining 8 brackets, and also the necessary screws and plugs there... so today we have toured the DIY stores of South & West Yorkshire. As it happened, the Halifax branch only had 11 brackets - but we found one which will do the job with a bit of alteration in an alternative outlet... So a logistical nightmare and many miles travelled, but no azaleas...
We were, however, near St Thomas' - the lovely old church where my friend Richard was the vicar many years ago. He and Sue are now in Tynemouth - so I'll send them this picture once I've blipped it! I guess we'll go to Wentworth another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.