Peahen

By Peahen

Smugmug test site up and running

You can have a look here - http://butlerbanksphotography.smugmug.com  Even if I had a day job (and many more years of experience!) I wouldn't be quitting it just yet, but at least I now have a place to put photographs with the opportunity to price and sell too. Butler and Banks are two of the fields at the farm where Chris got me started. I liked the alliteration and the relevance.

Anyway... since I need feedback and the farm needs money - during the fortnight trial I've baselined all the prices to 0% profit and am donating 50p for each person who gives feedback, and £1 for each order placed, up to a maximum of £30. I've had some really helpful feedback on things like watermarking and setting a slideshow on the front page. I could use a contact section too if I continue past the two week trial. Please feel free to have a look and report back :) It would be really useful if anyone outside the UK could see what shipping charges are like to their neck of the woods please, as with all good shopping sites you have the option to cancel before committing.

Zenfolio is proving a bit harder for me to love although I have seen some beautiful sites that use it. It's not as intuitive to build with, and the shopping experience requires users to register before they can see how much shipping charges will be. Personally I find this very irritating especially if I'm only spending a couple of pounds. It does have a broader range of UK despatched products, but I'm not convinced how many people would actually buy a fridge magnet or keyring if they had to register before seeing how much the postage would be...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.