Acrobat

We think he's a hooded oriole*. He and his mate started coming to the hummingbird feeder about a month ago, and can be depended on to show up about the same time every evening. Tim gave me a little flexible tripod for Mothers' Day, so I spent some time playing with it today. The telephoto lens on my Canon works quite well, but it takes a long time to focus, and it's difficult to find the subject and hold the camera still enough to get a good close-up.
 
OilMan voted for a different shot that clearly showed the St. Florians label on the beer bottle in the feeder (a gift from Dana), but I liked the acrobatics involved here. Interesting that they like the hummingbird feeder. I put a shot of the hummingbird in the extras just to show that they're holding own….

*A brain freeze caused me to call him a gold finch when he is obviously an oriole, as Dana pointed out to me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.