Night Riders

Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario 


I don't know what it is, but I'm attracted to the dark!

I guess this is my 1000 entry! Where has the time gone?  

In my daily life I am a Rehabilitation Therapist working in the field of Acquired Brain Injury. I work with clients that can be physically, environmentally, and verbally aggressive. I also work with clients that have addiction and or mental health issues. I find working with these clients very challenging, but on the other hand very rewarding. With this job I am always prepared for the unknown.  I feel that the skills that I have learned through this work can easily be adapted when I am photographing on the streets, due to my enjoyment wandering the city streets at night with who or what I might encounter. 

I also have worked over 20 years in the Fashion Industry as a Visual Display Artist –creating window and in-store displays for retail shops, department stores and designers.  This work involves researching to get an understanding of what is visually needed from the designers – sourcing materials, lighting, props and accessories.  This design skill is used to promote the image, products and services of businesses and also organizations.  I have also trained as a Makeup Artist and have a background in advertising. These creative fields have helped me with my composition and my artistic eye. Picking up a camera was the next logical thing to do.

I cannot identify one point that inspired me to become a photographer. It was more like a series of events that contributed to my involvement with photography. I’m passionate about all arts and for thinking creatively. I’m a visual artist! Photography, especially street photography, has become a spontaneous and exciting way of expressing my own creativity by shooting (and interacting with) what I see in the instances of life I come across. It connects me with these myriad moments and makes the ordinary become special. I know that it has become a bit of a passion for me because when I stay away from it too long, for even just a break, I feel there’s a part of me missing. Photography for me is a way to express the beauty of the world as I see it.

But it was five years ago my dear friend Kathryn, who is a Photographer, encouraged me to get another camera and start shooting again. Picking up a camera was the best thing I ever did. It has opened a whole new world for me.  As for my start in Street Photography, this happened three years ago while on a trip to Glasgow, Scotland. I met a Photographer who changed my life forever! They introduced me to Street Photography.  I fell in love with the Streets of Glasgow. 

I have never had any formal training when it comes to photography. I am also a knowledge seeker and always trying to find different ways to refine my photographic eye.  As I have stated I have an artistic background in fashion, advertising and Makeup Arts, I feel that these creative jobs have taught me all about composition.

I also have tried to surround myself with creative people and mentors that freely give me advice or critique my work. I have to say I have received a lot of encouragement from many Photographers. I feel when photographers share their knowledge with each other it is worth more than its weight in gold. I feel that my photography has grown as a result of those sharing their knowledge and I will be paying that forward by sharing my knowledge and photographs.  

I would have to say it is emotion is what triggers me to shoot . When I feel some deeply stirring emotional reaction within, then I look closer to see what it is that I am reacting to. I am very intuitive and trust my intuition to lead me. Sometimes when I feel that prick of reaction I don’t know what it is. I will look and wonder, and sometimes think, ‘what could it be, that looks boring’. Other times it is electricity and I know there is something waiting to reveal itself. I try to immerse myself in the moment and to not allow conscious censoring.

Thank you, for the all the favourites, all the stars and for all your lovely comments. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.