Wet Balcony Scene

Until late in the afternoon I kept hoping for a rain pause. A temporary breaking of the greygrey skies. Some light, some slight blue patch. I would jump on my bike and go for it. But no. No relief. And so, for the first time I would have find my theme very nearby. No silhouet of a gull sitting on a chimney with a stormy cloudformation in the background.


So, I had to content myself with those Beautiful Bougainvilles - far from mediterranean now! - on Aunties Old Dresser exposed to weather and wind. Even here I got wet feet to keep the spirits high. And that piece of furniture has a long and interesting story to tell. It is only the lower remnant of a linen drawer that belonged to one of my Grandma’s sisters. The upper part has been devored by time-worms. That Olde Thing has followed us through all removals. It is a miracle that it survived as piedestal for Mischa’s latest decorating arrangements. It looks a bit like me: grateful to find itself back after all those years on a wet, windy balcony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.