CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Pendant succulent flower, name not known

I'm running late after a fairly lazy day.  I managed to have a long read of a Georges Simenon detective story, but not featuring Monsieur Maigret, which is a rare event.  I also made some mental plans for the work ahead this week, where I will have to be running some key meetings and trying to bring projects to a clear focus and to keep them on track.

I had wanted to go out for a walk along the river to check on the dippers, but time ran out.  The weather had been rather gloomy until late in the day with lots of light rain and cool winds.

I decided to photograph this plant which has come into full flower, as per usual in the spring.  It seems happy in the spot I've chosen just in the shade of the otherwise bright rear dining room.  I don't actually know its proper name but I think it is an epiphyllum of some sort, or maybe related to the schlumbergera, or Christmas Cactus family.  I do like its mass of small pink flowers that hang on the pendulous leaves that are getting longer as they branch more and more each year.

I took the plant out to the cabin in the early evening light where Icould set up a tripod for my macro lens.  I used a reflector to add light from the sun although the plant was actually in the shade inside the cabin. 

Bomble didn't join me tonight as he was too busy complaining about the quality of the food, which he was refusing to eat tonight.  I think we need to get a change of brand as he does get bored, understandably, but we try our best.  Sometimes though a foot has to be put down, as it was tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.