a town called E.

By Eej

31

31 Days ago I wondered what would happen if I tried running a bit every day. Would I become a Runner? Would it be easier? Would I get better at it? And because it felt like something I could do, and because I desperately needed to do something I thought I could actually accomplish so I'd feel better about myself and life in general - I did it.
Today marked day 31. One whole month without gaps.
Running has not become a whole lot easier, but putting on my running shoes in the morning without excuses HAS. I'm still no good, but I can see some progress.
I lost the 12 lbs I gained since November 2013 (so I'm back having to lose 35 lbs). The boots that barely fit over my cold, tights-wearing calves now fit over my sweaty, bare legs.
Above all, though; even on days where I really struggled with everything, the days where I'd normally go to bed and watch Netflix to calm my mind, I put on my shoes and ran.
I am so very rarely proud of myself that this is a Big Moment for me.



Because I'm curious, I am going to continue. I'm curious to see if I will actually become a Runner (the capital is because while I consider myself a runner, I somehow feel I'm not an ACTUAL runner until I can run a 10 minute mile on average), I'm curious to see at what point my body/brain will have had enough, I'm curious if my body will change to accommodate the running. We'll see where it goes.



(Oh yeah, did I mention there was a downpour? That's not just sweat, it's actual water)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.