One BIG Implosion

I am late in getting my blip up for yesterday as I watched the implosion of the old Christchurch Police Station last night. I meet my youngest son in the city and we watch it go down. It was a cold wait but worth it!

There was a bit of excitement before hand as a little boy lost his football in the Avon River. The boy was really upset and the father didn't know how he was going to get it out because it was floating down stream. Then all of a sudden, the ball stopped and was heading towards the bank. The father finally managed to get the football out of the river with the boys scooter. All the people watching gave him a big cheer and a clap. Then some one said.. we may have missed the implosion with all this excitement! You can see a couple of the photos I took of this event in my extra shots.

You can see in the first photo of this set of shots of the implosion, the sun was still on the building that was when the first explosion went off and nothing seem to happen. Then the next explosion went off and that is when the building started to fall.

After all the excitement we walked around to the back of the building to get a better look, but we couldn't get very far as the roads were still blocked off. You can see the dust from the implosion in my first extra shot with the wonderful pink/blue sky. It was getting really dark by then and very cold.

The other extra shots are from my the walk home. The moon just looked amazing. The very last of my extra shots was taken of the old Christchurch Police Station when I first went into the city in the afternoon before the crowds arrive.

Here is a link to watch a video of the Implosion from different sites around the city. It is interesting to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.