Sailfish

By sailfish

Scooter

My last full day in Budapest, and a Bank Holiday, I expected everywhere to be crowded. I walked down to Liberty Bridge along Vaci Utca and found this chap scooting in the opposite direction. I also found a cafe called Fatal - I didn't try it.

I got the No 2 tram to Margaret Bridge and had a wander round Margaret Island, stopping off to listen to the musical fountain playing the Blue Danube (it really isn't blue!). Then off for a tour of the Opera which is sumptuous, all red and gold. I'd have loved to see an Opera there, but the tickets were sold out months in advance. 

So I've learned loads about the history of Hungary, seen fabulous architecture, waltzed over the Danube on the Chain Bridge, been to the baths, eaten far too well and discover Hungarian wine and champagne are superb. Not bad for a short trip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.