Wine or water?!

Another of my whistle-stop trips to Bath this morning! With only two errands to run, I was only in town for 25 minutes and was able to catch the same bus home that I'd arrived on!!

I'll be the first to admit that I take the beautiful city of Bath for granted. It's where I go to go to the bank or do my shopping. I really need to remember that it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and pay more attention to all its wonders and delights...

With this in mind, I stopped briefly this morning to grab a blip of 'Rebecca', a statue that I've walked past time upon time, without really paying attention. And thanks to good old Google, I've found out some interesting facts about her!

Built in 1861 by the Bath Temperance Association, The Rebecca Fountain, on the north side of Bath Abbey, is an historic marble drinking fountain. It depicts a life-size female figure pouring water from an urn into a bowl with the inscriptions "take the water of life freely" and "water is best". The water still pours from her urn to this day, but I wasn't quite tall enough (even on tippy-toes!) to look down into the fountain and show you the flowing water.

I'll leave you to decide if you'd prefer to sample a drink from one of the many nearby bars, or partake in a glass of Rebecca's water...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.