Vilnius (Day 4)

Lithuania is a country of lakes and forests. (Sandy beaches too, on the coast). On the train yesterday I was reminded how lovely it is.

Today I abandoned the city for the lakes and forests. I went to Trakai, 35 minutes away on the train.

I was taken there on my first visit to the country in October '93. I took my son there last time I was here (2001, I think).

As well as the lovely castle and lake, it is home to a significant Karaim community. They speak a Turkic language similar to Crimean Tatars. They've been there since the 1400s. 

A blissful outing. Sunshine, warm breeze and plenty quiet places.

Vilnius' most glamorous grandmother was kind enough to buy me dinner there, and drive me home in her Audi.  

I've added an extra photo showing the village, and another of the lake. The last "extra" is what a 3rd class train ticket gets you in these parts. Not bad? Long time since I've traveled 3rd class.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.