Where the Apollo stood

I was in Glasgow City centre all day today at the offices of the Herald newspaper attending the judging of the Higher Education awards as I am on the judging panel. That and the poor weather didn't give me much chance for any pictures, but on the way towards the Herald offices I took this photo of the Cineworld building.

The Cineworld has been in Glasgow for quite a few years now,. It sits on the site of the The Apollo which was the premium live music venue in Glasgow for many, many years.

I saw some fantastic bands at the Apollo including;
Thin Lizzy, The Who, The Jam, Blondie, The Clash, The Boomtown Rats, Alice Cooper, The Police, The Steve Miller Band, The Shadows, and The Average White Band.

Passing the spot where the Apollo stood always makes me think of those nights and the great bands I saw there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.