There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Lady in Red

The red carpet border lilies in my butterfly garden have been spectacular this year. They're really eye-catching: both the colors and the shapes. And I've spotted a hummingbird or two flying overhead, taking a close look at them. When we see red, we just can't look away!

Back in the 80s, a good friend of mine (who is also a very lovely, attractive woman) told me a story about a party she went to. She was the only woman in the room wearing a red dress, and they played this one song about a lady in red - that seemed to have been written just for her. My friend's husband turned and smiled at her: offered her his hand. And they danced. Alone. Slowly. Cheek to cheek. In the middle of the floor, with everyone watching . . .

"I've never seen you looking so gorgeous as you did tonight.
I've never seen you shine so bright; you were amazing.
I've never seen so many people want to be there by your side.
And when you turned to me and smiled, it took my breath away. . . ."

These lyrics are from the wonderful Chris de Burgh song, The Lady in Red (which came out in 1986, the year I met the man who would eventually become my husband - yes, we've been together that long). And yes, I admit that I've dreamed of living in that enchanted moment that my friend had at the party. Of being Cinderella at the ball, at last. Of being the only woman in red and being lovely and irresistible, and dancing elegantly and perfectly. Of fully and joyously inhabiting the moment and the spotlight with the man I love - who clearly adores me - while everyone else watches, admiring how beautiful we are and secretly longing to be us. But I must admit that's never really happened to me. (I think that sort of moment should happen to every woman at least once in her lifetime; don't you?)

In any case, the song is indeed swoon-worthy. Here's a link where you can watch/listen as Chris de Burgh himself sings it.

YouTube link of Chris de Burgh singing The Lady in Red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.