gefmayhem

By gefmayhem

Keep Out!!

Not near my hotel but surrounding one of the other hotels was an army camp and these signs where everywhere.
I also saw the ghost town by Famagusta. There is a dispute over the ownership of the buildings and land for a 6km stretch of the coast.
Its been unoccupied and left to fall apart since the 1970's.

The country north of the green line in Cyprus has no politcal status and is not recognised as a country.
They cant export goods and you cant even fly there directly, you have to go via Southern Cyprus or Turkey.

I found the residents to be friendly if somewhat resigned to the fate that 50 years of fighting and politics has handed them.

I can argue that because investment in the country is limited then it is a less developed and therefore much nicer place to holiday, but I'm sure the residents would prefer to live in a country that is recognised.

I'd go back anytime

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.