Eyre Place

"Sixty four, the black and white door" rang through my childhood as a reminding rhyme of the place I first called home. Straight from the Eastern General Hospital to 64 Eyre Place which, at the time, had a black and white door.

Andy Williams wrote a song for me about it.

This is Lloyd & Louis outside said abode.

Last night Kate had a kip then got up at midnight and let me sleep til 7am.

It was fucking brilliant. As a result, the rest of the day was brilliant too and here's how it went...

Up at 7am, Kate was making breakfast for us all, got the kids ready and whapped ze twins in the new buggy and walked to school. We were mobbed in the playground, in a good way. Had a few conversations and then headed off. Popped into to Frutin to introduce the bams to Mark, got a call from the school to say it was interscholastics today and David didn't have any kit. So, I told them to send him along to Frutin then we'd go back to Mad St. and sort it and he'd come back himself.

 We left Frutin and came home, David got his stuff, and coincidentally, Claire was in the street so, she got a wee deek at the twins.

David came out all sorted for the athletics, he headed off and I went down to the old railway psychopath with the twins and headed along to Canonmills to get a haircut. 

 Louis was moaning so we stopped off in St Mark's Park for a feed in some sunny / windy as fuck typical Scottish weather. Fed them both and set off again.

 Wasn't sure it was gonna work, being in the barbers and Lloyd & Louis just having to not wake up / moan. But, it actually did work. Due, in part, to the fact that Colin & Fiona also have twins so are pretty au fait with looking after / shoogling newborn parasites. 

 Hung out there for a while, had a coffee and a jobbie. Fed the twins the remaining tit mulk and headed off. 

 I had kinda planned to go past Number 64. In fact, I have had this idea for a project for as long as I've been taking photographs which is; taking photographs of doors. Doors that mean something and have a story. Everywhere I've lived or where things happened throughout my life and the lives of my family.

 I've never gotten around to it (a Round Tuit, as mum would say) so this is a taster of what I was planning. Engrossing, eh?...

Anyhoo, Nodds appeared as if from nowhere (on his lunch), we had a quick chat and I headed up Rodney Street.

 About halfway up I made the decision to go to Crombies and get Kate a really nice steak as she's low as fuck on iron. Did that, plus some black pudding' and a veggie haggis. Headed up to Real Food, got loads of dried fruit, muesli & nice porridge and took a stroll home in the sun down to Leith feeling like the luckiest happiest cunt alive. 

 Kate called, all confused and half awake. I jumped on the 14 and was home in 10 mins.

The food delivery had arrived. We decided on which recipe to cook for tea.

David came home about 5pm having sorted the cats n stuff.

I went to get Rose, came home. Made tea which seemed to be a very healthy success.

Watched a Simpsons, read Rose a story, got the kids off to bed then Kate's mum arrived as she'd bonkersly offered to help us out by letting us get some kip and staying up with the boys all night. I think she realised how mental an idea that was at some point during the night.

 However, it was and is massively appreciated, I got a great sleep (Unfortunately for Kate, she still had to get up and express some mulk about half 3). I blissfully slept on a cloud of solpadeine max, dihydracodeine, ibuprofen and a wee half vallie.

This is the life.

What I realised today was that I want more time off and I really need the lottery to be won by me this week.

The above text provided by a rather strong coffee & a very good night's sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.