Richharris

By Richharris

Leap of Faith

I have always fancied doing a bungee jump and on Monday I finally had the opportunity. All my lessons were cancelled because of Children's day so my friend and I caught the train to Longqing gorge. This is the same place where the ice festival was held but it is a different kettle of fish in the summer. Boat rides and karst limestone scenery and of course bungee jumping.

It didn't look that high from the bottom and I thought huh no problem but nothing could prepare me for the feeling at the top. They had a no hesitating rule which was strictly enforced so I didn't really have time to think about what I was doing. Before I knew it I was stood on a narrow ledge with the gate shut behind me. No going back. I looked down and every nerve in my body was screaming at me not to do it. Several million years of evolution has written it into the DNA of every cell of your body that you should not jump from great heights. Fortunately I just thought, "well I have no choice," so over I went and it was absolutely terrifying and exhilarating. Definitely worth doing once but I am not sure if I would ever do it again. Been there, done that, got the certificate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.