Country File

By marypot

Dad

We gave Dad a great send off today. We couldn't have asked for more and we hope he would have approved.

Grace accompanied Hubby and me to the crematorium for a short committal service this morning. It was the most difficult part of the day, as it was when we said goodbye to Dad's body. It felt strangely peaceful, and the end of a logical process having been with him in the hospital and again at rest on Saturday.

We then went back to the village church for a memorial service. We knew Dad was a well-known and well-loved man, but the turnout and response was overwhelming. The village was already packed out with cars when we arrived. Luckily, there were pews at the front of the church reserved for family, because the rest was full with lots standing at the back. The service was broadcast into the church hall next door, which was also full. We reckon there were several hundred in attendance overall.

The service itself was incredibly moving, with moments of great humour, reflecting the funny man we knew and loved. My brother read on behalf of the family and did a wonderful job. I sat and stared at the picture of my gorgeous Dad throughout, smiling and tearful in equal measure. Ophelia and Grace sat with us and behaved impeccably. It all got too much for Grace towards the end, and she just had to bury her head in me for a while as she cried. Ophelia smiled throughout, through teary eyes. It was a special way to remember a great man.

It took us well over an hour at the end of the service to greet the line of mourners - which included family members; friends of the family we have known all our lives; neighbours and villagers; his tea dance companions; the Beacon Club members he lunched with every week; and many members of his Freemason lodge. He was proud of his longstanding and important role in the masons, and we had the compass symbol put onto his coffin as a mark of respect. Our own friends also came out to support us on this saddest of days. Many people shared previously unknown stories and memories of Dad as we shook their hands and embraced them. What an honour to be the daughter of such a man. I'm even more proud of him now than I ever was.

We gathered in the village hall after church. The caterers had done a fantastic job. Never seen such a lot of food and the cake/cream cake table was an eye opener. It was difficult to catch up with everyone but I did chat to as many as possible. Arwen came to join us for the afternoon. All the girls continued to behave brilliantly and were mixing with friends and family. Some of my friends literally ran around for hours helping get tea and coffee to the hundreds of guests, clearing plates and washing up. Very thankful of their support today.

Finally, it was time to leave. We shared out leftover food and cakes - sending a platter to the pub with the menfolk who continued their bar chat in the village (and are still there now, several hours later!). We also sent a plate of cakes to the girls' teachers as their school is opposite the hall. Our helpers took lots home too.

Tonight I'm shattered, but strangely energised and can't switch off. I've been back to the now silent and darkened church to collect the coffin spray, so we can share the flowers between us. Ophelia and I also joined the boys in the pub for a while, whilst we waited for Grace to finish her Beavers group which was back in the village hall. Busy day for the superb chairman/caretaker there!

This has been a long blip entry for sure, but as I mentioned when my Dad died, I have so few memories of when we lost Mam several years ago when I fell out of blipping for months and I didn't record any of those memories. It's important for me to do it right this time so that I can remember this part of my life. My wonderful Dad is gone, but his spirit will live on through the many people he touched with his kindness and humour during his 87 years on this earth. Love you Dad. Keep smiling; keep laughing; keep dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.