Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cheery

Gerberas are such cheerful flowers.  If they were people, they'd make a room light up when they walked in and always have chocolate in their bag.

My 'woman of action' plans from yesterday sort of came off, in that I did manage to do some things - like book our summer holiday finally - yeah!  The morning was largely spent on school stuff.  On Tuesday a neighbour takes the kids to school, so when I arrive at CarbBoy's school to 'work'* he's there already.  Today he was sitting on a windowsill with a very sad face, and a very sore leg.  Turns out the first thing he did when he arrived at school was fall down and scrape all the side of his leg and both his hands.  He had been antiseptic'd and given 'some tablets' (I suspect some homeopathic nonsense - which I really wish people wouldn't do without my say-so!)  He was feeling very sorry for himself but - finally - I have enough skills as a parent to know that a big hug was NOT what he needed in front of all his pals... So a friendly pat on the shoulder it was, and lots of cuddling words that his friends couldn't understand.

Anyway, cheques done, world set to rights with CheeseLady, and off home to invoice, process cheques, etc. Then shopping, washing, light bulb changing (will it ever end?) and relax.

Or so I thought.

Until I remembered the meeting with the nuns that I was due at 5 minutes before I remembered it... A quick dash there (in the 30 degree heat in a non-airconditioned car) had me arriving all sweaty and discombobulated.  Regardless I fulfilled my role, which is to put on my reading glasses, study my files, frown heavily and shake my head whenever the nuns ask if maybe we could pay for something.

Job done.

I also today realised that my problem with chocolate is not that I need to be more disciplined in the evening, but that I need to be less disciplined in the shops during the day and just buy chocolate even though I sort of know I shouldn't.  Well, I found a way around it tonight.  Let's just hope the kids don't want nutella on their toast tomorrow.

*unpaid, therefore has ' ' s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.