Back Blip - MonoMonday Challenge - Sharp

This photo may seem rather obtuse, but I want to draw your attention to the front forks of this bicycle...  They are the classic straight fork design of Colnago Bicycles and are know to be a sharp steerer.

Monday was my first climbing ride of the year at my secret hill climb out of San Remo - kind of a secret garden passing through all the layers of mediterranean vegitation until getting to the cooler and more open chestnut and pine forests on top.  You should have seen all the juniper bushes in flower along the hillsides - a sweet flowery vanilla wafting through the air. 

Well not exactly a secret, but it is pretty well out of the way and I usually meet very little traffic on the climb and very few other cyclist too.  Which was a good thing as I was VERY slow.  The climb in itself was good and I had decided shortly out of the house to wipe my mind of any hard objectives other than to get up the mountain.  Elephant legs and cement lungs and rubber arms... so it seems.  I did make it up to the top and this is my usual photo op nearly to the top summit.

Felt good to be back on the Colnago.  On the descent, I put the sharp steerer to the test.  Known to be a bit dangerous to the uninitiated, you can brake well into the corner also with the front brakes as it won't sit you up hard like some other Forks.  What a fun little dance riding down the mountain fast - rising and falling between the curves and flitting between the holes and bumps in the pavement.  Give me more!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.